Ice on the Dune by Empire of the Sun

Australian electronic music duo, Empire of the Sun, burst into the new-wave scene with their debut album Walking on a Dream. With striking similarities (and yet unlike) to MGMT, the duo’s charm lies with their strange music videos, outlandish costumes, tripping-on-drugs lyrics and of course stellar music. Continue reading

Bankrupt! – Phoenix

From being a fairly unknown 4-piece French band to being one of the headlined acts at Coachella ’13, their last album Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix did wonders for Phoenix’s popularity.  They won over people with songs like 1901 and Lisztomania in their signature guitar and synth pop amalgam. Their 5th album, Bankrupt!, comes at a time when the hype about them has still not yet died down and it has much to live up to. Continue reading

Comedown Machine – The Strokes


The Strokes are a 5-piece American band consisting of Julian Casablancas (lead vocals), Nick Valensi (guitar, backing vocals), Albert Hammond, Jr. (guitar, backing vocals), Nikolai Fraiture (bass guitar) and Fabrizio Moretti (drums, percussion). Comedown Machine their latest album was released on 26th March, 2013 (a mere 2 years from their last release Angles). Continue reading

OutRun – Kavinsky


Kavinsky (Vincent Belorgey) is a French electronica artist who rose to fame with his track “Nightcall” being used on the Drive soundtrack. After several EPs, he finally came out with his first studio album, OutRun. Unlike his peers Daft Punk and Justice, both of whom he has toured with, Kavinsky favours retro-electro rather than dance.

The album is a soundtrack of sorts for Belorgey’s story behind his stage alter-ego Kavinsky and starts with “Prelude” which gives you a comic book style narrative of Kavinsky’s story  – a man who dies crashing his Ferrari Testarossa only to rise from the dead as a kickass electronic-music-producing zombie whose soul has now been linked to that of his car – which then sets the theme for the rest of the album. Continue reading